top of page
  • Writer's picturehoustonlong

Charred Corn & Avocado Salsa with Sweet & Sassy Vinaigrette

Updated: Aug 28, 2018

Create a blog post subtitle that summarizes your post in a few short, punchy sentences and entices your audience to continue reading.

A couple of years ago ago I made Charred Corn and Avocado Salsa with Spicy Honey Lime Vinaigrette as a side for Kim's birthday.


It was a big hit. The next day my Dad came down and I was looking for it in the fridge so he could try it (we had a good bit left over).


I asked Kim what she did with the charred corn and avocado salsa. I knew we had a good bit left over, but couldn't find it..


Her response?


"I ate it."


Did I mention she LOVED it?


I found quite a few variations of this recipe.


Here's what I ended up putting together..


Ingredients

  • 1 handful fresh basil and mint

  • 1 cayenne pepper

  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes

  • 5 ears corn

  • 1 Large or 2 small avocado, small

  • 1 Poblano pepper, diced

  • 1/2 red onion, sliced very thin

  • 1/2 tsp honey

  • 2 tbsp lime juice

  • 1 Kosher salt + freshly ground black pepper

  • 1/4 cup olive oil, extra virgin

How to make it
  1. Crank up your broiler up to high.

  2. Shuck the corn on the cob, remove silks and cut the kernels from the cob.

  3. Add the diced poblano and sliced red onion.

  4. Mix in one to two teaspoons of olive oil to coat then season with salt and pepper.

  5. Pour onto a sheet pan and spread out in an even layer.

  6. Stick it under the broiler until you see charring in spots. The recipes I saw called for 3 to 5 minutes, but it took mine a bit longer.

  7. Take the pan out, add avocado, and broil for a minute or two longer then remove from oven.

  8. Whisk lime juice, honey, and cayenne, and drizzle in the extra virgin olive oil, whisking until emulsified. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

  9. Scrape the ingredients on the pan into a serving bowl, add cherry tomatoes, mint and basil, and drizzle in the lime vinaigrette, a little at a time until it's coated well. Toss and taste for seasoning. Serve with lime wedges.

TIPS

  • Don't sweat it if you're missing something. I forgot to grab fresh mint and substituted dried mint (you only need a small amount when using dried herbs).

  • This is a great recipe to transfer to grill.. I'm looking forward to trying a grilled version of this with some applewood or oak smoke to add another layer of flavor.

Thinking of buying or selling? Give me a call!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page